22 EU member States signed the agreement on creation of single digital market

22 EU member States signed the agreement on creation of single digital market

Twenty-two member States of the EU signed a Declaration on the conclusion of the European partnership in the field of blockchain technologies, announced the press service of the European Commission.

The goal of the partnership is to provide the countries-EU members the opportunity to exchange experience in the field of new technologies to create fertile ground for the development of the digital single market, which will benefit both the private and public sectors.

Since the technology is already in use in the financial sector worldwide, the partners hope to adapt it and integrate it into the digital service, which in coming years will be useful for other commercial sectors. In a statement on the website describes how the unified European digital market will prevent the fragmented approaches of individual countries.

The partnership will allow all participating States to contribute equally to the creation of a favorable ecosystem, which fully complies with EU rules, and encourages the development of blockchain developments for successful use in Europe.

In a statement about the creation of the partnership was quoted European Commissioner for the digital economy Mary Gabriel:

“In the future all public services will use Blockchain tech. Blockchain is a great opportunity for Europe and member States to rethink their information systems, increase the confidence of users and to protect personal data to help create new business opportunities and new areas of leadership, beneficial to citizens, public agencies and companies. The partnership, launched today, allows member States together with the European Commission to channel the enormous potential of Blockchain technology to provide better services for citizens “.

The European Commission has already invested over 80 million euros in the development of the blockchain. By 2020 to further the study of technology will be allocated another 300 million euros.

The EU invites all members of the European economic area to join the partnership. Among the already participating countries include Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK.

Let's Disqus